Anthropic is worth $965 billion, and that number comes straight from the company.
Almost every other figure you will read about what Anthropic is worth is somebody's estimate wearing a number's clothes.
This guide separates the two, round by round, so you know which Anthropic valuation facts are confirmed and which are guesses.
Key Takeaways
Anthropic's only company-confirmed valuation is $965 billion post-money, set by its $65 billion Series H in May 2026.
Anthropic has published post-money valuations for its Series E through H rounds: $61.5 billion, $183 billion, $380 billion, and $965 billion.
Anthropic submitted a confidential draft S-1 in June 2026 and said the share count and price had not been set.
No per-share price has come from Anthropic or an SEC filing; the roughly $589 figure in circulation comes from private-market data providers.
Amazon quantifies its Anthropic position in its own SEC filings, while Alphabet's periodic filings never name Anthropic.
A private post-money valuation is not a market capitalization, and confusing the two is the most common error in this topic.
Altimeter Capital, Dragoneer, Greenoaks, and Sequoia Capital led the round.
Capital Group, Coatue, D1 Capital Partners, GIC, ICONIQ, and XN co-led it.
Those are the facts the company put its name to.
Everything that follows in this article is labeled the same way: if Anthropic published it or a company filed it with regulators, it is stated plainly, and if it did not, that gap is stated plainly too.
Anthropic has published a post-money valuation for four of its funding rounds.
The jump from $61.5 billion to $965 billion took just under fifteen months.
Round | Announced | Raised | Post-money valuation | Lead investors |
| May 2023 | $450M | Not disclosed | Spark Capital |
| March 2025 | $3.5B | $61.5B | Lightspeed Venture Partners |
| September 2025 | $13B | $183B | ICONIQ |
| February 2026 | $30B | $380B | GIC and Coatue |
| May 2026 | $65B | $965B | Altimeter, Dragoneer, Greenoaks, Sequoia |
Two things about this table are worth understanding before you use it.
First, the Series C announcement names the investors and the amount, but gives no valuation.
Second, this table only covers rounds where Anthropic itself published a post-money valuation, so it is not a complete list of every financing the company has done.
Amazon's money arrived partly through convertible notes rather than priced equity rounds, which is why it does not show up as a round of its own in the table above.
Amazon's own quarterly filing states that it invested $8.0 billion in Anthropic convertible notes between the third quarter of 2023 and the fourth quarter of 2025.
There is no official per-share price for Anthropic stock.
Anthropic's funding announcements publish valuations, not share prices.
The company has not filed a public registration statement, so no price appears in any SEC document either.
That number comes from private-market data providers rather than from Anthropic, and Forge, whose data feeds the widely quoted figure, states plainly that its private-company data is derived from secondary trading activity and does not necessarily represent the price at which you could buy or sell. It is not a company-confirmed price, and Anthropic has no public registration statement on file that would contain one.
The same May 2026 notice from Anthropic named Forge among the platforms not authorized to buy or sell its shares, which is part of why this figure should be read as a data point rather than a price.
If you see it presented as Anthropic's share price with no qualifier, the page you are reading has skipped a step.
Even if you accept a reported preferred-share price, it is not the price an Anthropic employee's equity is worth.
Investors in these rounds buy preferred stock, which usually carries protections that common stock does not.
At a private company, employees typically hold common stock and options, valued for tax purposes at a lower fair-market value than the preferred shares investors buy.
The gap between the two prices is normal for a private company, and Anthropic has never published what its common stock is valued at.
A post-money valuation and a market capitalization are calculated the same way and mean very different things.
Both multiply a share price by a share count.
Divide $965 billion by the reported per-share figure and you get roughly 1.6 billion fully diluted shares.
Treat that only as illustration: Anthropic has never published a share count, and the price in that arithmetic is not company-confirmed either.
Here is why the distinction matters more than the math.
A post-money valuation is the price one group of investors agreed to pay for newly issued preferred shares in a single negotiation.
Those shares often come with downside protection, and the price is set once in a negotiation rather than tested continuously by an exchange.
A market capitalization is different in every one of those respects.
It prices ordinary common shares, continuously, against whoever is willing to buy and sell that day.
So when a headline says Anthropic is "worth" $965 billion, the accurate reading is narrower than it sounds.
It means a specific set of investors paid a specific price for a specific class of protected shares in May 2026.
Anthropic's ownership is partly public and partly not, and the split is not where most people assume.
Amazon discloses its position in detail because it has to.
Alphabet does not disclose a percentage at all.
Neither the founders' stakes nor employee ownership has ever been published as a number.
It also states that Amazon put $5.0 billion into Series H nonvoting preferred stock during the second quarter of 2026.
The word doing the work there is "nonvoting."
Google's situation is the opposite kind of interesting.
It does not name Anthropic anywhere in that filing.
Anthropic's most unusual shareholder holds a class of stock created specifically for it.
Class T grants the Trust the authority to elect and remove board members, phasing in over time- and funding-based milestones, and Anthropic said in 2023 that the Trust would elect a majority of the board within four years of that change.
For an investor, the practical takeaway is that board control and economic ownership are separated here by design.
Employees and former employees hold common stock and options.
No share count, percentage, or option pool size has been published.
Each new round dilutes existing holders, including employees, since new shares are issued to new investors.
Anthropic's bylaws restrict transfers of both preferred and common stock, so employee equity is not freely sellable ahead of a listing.
The honest answer is that no Anthropic IPO valuation has been confirmed by anyone in a position to confirm it.
Here is what is confirmed.
The same statement said the offering would depend on market conditions and other factors, and that the number of shares to be offered and the price had not yet been set.
A confidential submission is not a public filing, so none of the numbers a public registration statement would contain are available.
That list includes the share count, the share classes and their voting rights, the ticker symbol, the exchange, the price range, and the ownership table.
As of September 2026, no public registration statement for Anthropic has appeared on the SEC's EDGAR system.
That does not make those expectations worthless.
It does mean you should treat them as forecasts and ask who is making them.
SpaceX filed an amended registration statement with the SEC in June 2026.
It offers 555,555,555 shares of Class A common stock, with an underwriters' option on 83,333,333 more.
It expects approximately $74.4 billion of net proceeds, or $85.7 billion if that option is exercised in full.
And it names the venue: an application to list on Nasdaq and Nasdaq Texas under the symbol SPCX. Now compare that to what a private round tells you.
A private round gives you one number, negotiated once, for one class of protected shares.
A registration statement gives you the price, the share count, the proceeds, the exchange, the ticker, and the ownership table, all filed under legal liability.
Anthropic's confidential draft produces none of that publicly yet.
That gap, rather than any particular multiple, is the reason a confirmed private valuation is a starting point instead of a forecast.
Pre-IPO contracts let people take a position on Anthropic's valuation without owning shares, and they price expectation rather than the company.
The contract is settled in USDT and tracks the market-implied value of a single Anthropic share.
It does not convey shares, voting rights, or any claim on the company.
That distinction is not a technicality.
A perpetual contract holds no shares, so there is no transfer for Anthropic to refuse to recognize, and the price reflects sentiment directly.
Where that sentiment has been sitting is worth knowing.
That tells you what one part of the private market expected, not what the company is confirmed to be worth.
Read these prices as a sentiment gauge, and check the last confirmed round before you decide what they mean.
How much is Anthropic worth?
Anthropic's last confirmed valuation is $965 billion post-money, set by its Series H round announced in May 2026.
Who owns Anthropic?
Its known holders include Amazon, Google, the founders, current and former employees, and a long list of institutional investors named in each round announcement; the Long-Term Benefit Trust holds a separate class of stock that carries board-election rights rather than economic ownership.
Who is Anthropic's largest shareholder?
No party has been confirmed as the largest shareholder, because neither Anthropic nor its investors have published percentage stakes.
How much of Anthropic does Amazon own?
Amazon's own filing reports $8.0 billion invested in convertible notes and roughly $92.5 billion of nonvoting preferred stock as of June 30, 2026, and its notes convert to nonvoting common stock subject to an ownership cap if Anthropic lists.
Does Google own part of Anthropic?
Google is an investor, but Alphabet's SEC filings do not name Anthropic or state a stake percentage.
What is Anthropic's market cap?
Anthropic has no market capitalization, because it is not publicly traded; $965 billion is a private post-money valuation, which is not the same measure.
How much is Anthropic stock per share?
No official per-share price exists, and the roughly $589 figure in circulation comes from a private-market data provider rather than from Anthropic or an SEC filing.
Has Anthropic filed for an IPO?
Anthropic confidentially submitted a draft Form S-1 in June 2026, which is not a public filing and does not set a date, price, or share count.
What will Anthropic's ticker symbol be?
No ticker has been confirmed, and one would normally appear in a public registration statement.
Can I buy Anthropic stock before the IPO?
Not as ordinary shares on a public exchange; the products available to most people offer exposure to Anthropic's valuation rather than actual ownership of its stock.
Is Anthropic publicly traded?
No, as of September 2026 Anthropic remains a private company.
One Anthropic number is solid: $965 billion, published by the company in May 2026.
Everything above it is a forecast, and everything below the headline, the share price and the ownership percentages, is mostly not disclosed at all.
Knowing which is which is the whole skill here.